Home News Local news Turnbull Nominates One Man, Four Women

Turnbull Nominates One Man, Four Women


Nov. 3, 2005 — Gov. Charles W. Turnbull announced five nominations Thursday. He has nominated Ralph R. Smith, senior vice president of the Annie E. Casey Foundation, to the Board of Trustees of the University of the Virgin Islands. The appointment is for five years.
In a press release announcing the nomination, Turnbull said Smith has served with distinction on various boards and advisory committees, and he has published numerous publications on family and race relations.
He has also appointed four V.I. residents to fill vacancies on the Commission on the Status of Women.
Special Assistant to the Deputy of Planning and Development of the Department of Human Services Sandra Thomas-Mason was nominated to replace Sandra Brunet, who has resigned. Chief Operating Officer/Vice President of Patient Care for the Juan F. Luis Hospital Darice Plaskett is to replace Nereida Rivera. Retired educator Mavis H. Brady is set to replace Canchan Hemrajani. Treatment/Marketing Coordinator Desiree Ritter Lambertis is named to replace Pamela Ecstein. These appointments are for two years.
The governor commended the appointees for their willingness to lend their talents to enhance the quality of life for women by devoting their time, energy and professional experience.

Back Talk

Share your reaction to this news with other Source readers. Please include headline, your name and city and state/country or island where you reside.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here