Home News Local news DeJongh Transition Team Names Task Force Leaders

DeJongh Transition Team Names Task Force Leaders


Dec. 14, 2006 — The co-chairs of the deJongh-Francis transition team have announced the leaders of the team's nine task groups, which will each focus on specific areas of government operations to determine potential opportunities and challenges in the various executive branch departments and autonomous agencies of the V.I. government.
The task group leaders met on St. Thomas and St. Croix Wednesday via video teleconference to get an update on work done by the transition team. Many task group leaders reported significant progress in their assessments of government service now being provided. Transition Team Co-Chair Jennifer Nugent-Hill encouraged the group members to continue to proceed with much diplomacy: "We are acting as consultants to the governor-elect and Lieutenant Governor-elect in their bid to begin their administration on the right foot."
The inauguration of Gov.-elect John de Jongh and Lt. Gov.-elect Gregory Francis will take place on January 1, 2007. Three days of events surrounding the Inaugural are set for the three major islands.
The Task Groups are:
Education, Sports and Recreation
Chairs: Carmen Dennis, Professor Aubrey Washington
Education, Board of Education, UVI, Parks and Recreation, DPNR
Economic Development
Chairs: Hunt Logan, Percy Clouden
Tourism, Agriculture, EDA, VIPA, WICO, Workforce Development, PSC
Justice & Public Safety
Chairs: Delroy Richards, Denise Francois
VIPD, Justice, Corrections, LEPC, Bureau of Motor Vehicles, VITEMA, Fire, National Guard, Homeland Security
Economic Regulation
Chair: Albert Bryan Jr., Angel Dawson
DLCA, Banking and Insurance, Casino Commission, Lottery, Corporations & Trademarks, Deeds, Labor, PSC
Financial Affairs and Taxation
Chairs: Kathleen Dyer, Juanita Young
Finance, OMB, BIR, PFA and Property Tax
Government Personnel & Operations
Chairs: Glen Byron, Hank Smock
Property and Procurement, Personnel, Veterans Affairs, Collective Bargaining, GERS, GESC, Information Technology, Inspector General
Health and Human Services
Chairs: Chris Finch, Dilsa Capdeville
Health, Roy L. Schneider Hospital, Juan F. Luis Hospital, Human Services, Elderly Services, Health Clinics
Infrastructure and Transportation
Chairs: Alicia Barnes, Robert Mathes
Public Works, Waste Management Authority, WAPA, Planning Capital Projects, Block Grants
Chairs: Adrienne Williams, Alfonse Nibbs
Housing Department, Housing Authority, Housing Finance Authority
Back Talk

Share your reaction to this news with other Source readers. Please include headline, your name and city and state/country or island where you reside.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here