Home News Local news Speculation Running Rampant Over Rotary II's Person of the Year

Speculation Running Rampant Over Rotary II's Person of the Year


Feb. 15, 2007 –- It's that time of year again – no, not taxes or Valentine's, not the first crocus of spring, not the warm-up selections for Carnival.
It's the time to disclose what is likely the island's best-kept secret: the Rotary Club of St. Thomas II Person of the Year.
This year's recipient of the coveted Don Quixote statuette, symbolic of the winner's selfless dedication to the community, will be announced Feb. 21 at the club's luncheon at Marriott's Frenchman's Reef Beach Resort.
This guessing game has been going on since 1981, when the club chose its first recipient, Wilbur "Bill" LaMotta.
Person of the Year Committee Chair Elliott MacIver Davis, who traditionally is the "keeper of the big secret," was his traditional close-mouthed self this year. He did allow, however, that this year is "a first." This could mean anything, providing, of course, that the person has done something of note for the good of the community.
The secret was so closely held by the committee in 2002, that the recipient was flabbergasted, when it turned out to be Davis, himself. Always the soul of diplomacy and smooth introductions, Davis — solicitor general, marathoner, chair of Antilles School board and cancer survivor — found himself briefly speechless.
For what it's worth, Davis said in a release that although the committee wouldn't comment on its selection, "it is noted that no one has ever received the award twice."
"The dimension of publicly announcing the exceptional nature of this year's recipient can only heighten the suspense," said club president Marilyn Blackhall. "I don't even know who will receive the award."
The award has been given to a wide spectrum of community leaders, from current Gov. John deJongh Jr. to businessmen, politicians, radio personalities, musicians and even a newspaper publisher.
Previous persons of the year include: LaMotta, Davis, Albert Aubain, Gov. Roy Schneider, Costas Coulianos, Calvin Wheatley, Dr. Alfred Heath, Gov. Alexander Farrelly, Irvin "Brownie" Brown, Delegate Ron de Lugo, Dilsa Capdeville, Athniel "Addie" Ottley, Judge Verne Hodge, Leona Bryant, Edward Thomas, Juel Molloy, Vinnie Mohanani, Sen. Lorraine Berry, Nick Pourzal, Randy Knight, John P. DeJongh Jr., Shaun Pennington, Laverne Ragster, Rodney Miller, Suzanne Robinson and Joseph Aubain.
Back Talk

Share your reaction to this news with other Source readers. Please include headline, your name and city and state/country or island where you reside.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here