Home News Local sports Bumann, Brown and Harper Win Cycling Team Event

Bumann, Brown and Harper Win Cycling Team Event


March 31, 2008 – The best way to win a Cycling Team Time Trial is to turn three separate riders into one cohesive machine. Robert Bumann provided most of the horsepower on Sunday as he led Sue Brown and John Harper to an easy win in the 22-mile race in 58:43. Each three-person team started at one-minute intervals, and the contest was shaping up as a close affair, until the second seeded team of Gario, Massiah and Smith caught a flat tire and lost four minutes. They held on for second place in 1:02:45, beating the third place squad of Diaz, Greaux and Sergeant by 50 seconds.
The day also featured a shorter 14-mile race, for first time trialers, with Kennedy, Nowack and Cockrell winning in 49:43, according to a press release from the Virgin Islands Cycling Federation.
The next event is the West is Best Triathlon, to be held on April 6, in Frederiksted.
For more information, call 773-8456 or visit: [email protected]
Three-Person Time Trial – March 30
22 miles
1. Robert Bumann, Sue Brown, John Harper – 58:43
2. Juancito Gario, Glenn Massiah, DeWayne Smith – 1:02:45
3. Jose Diaz, Cumber Greaux, Dwight Sergeant -1:03:33
4. Paul Trivino, Miguel Cruz, Apolinar Acevedo – 1:05:34
*Scott Fricks, Todd Harris, Valerie Shoppell – DNF
*Marius Modeste, James Meyers, Bevern Sage – DNF
14 miles
1. Mark Kennedy, David Nowack, Chris Cockrell – 45:43
2. Brad Chaffee, Fred Flint, Dick Isherwood – 49:10
3. Shaun Dalton, Madeline Cruz, Jim Holt – 59:50
4. Peter Duthie, Richard Jeanpierre, Paul Gillette – 1:01:27


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here