Home Community Organizations DEMS TO AWARD "MEN OF ACTION"



August 5, 2003 – Several of the territory's most distinguished Democratic men will be honored for their contribution to the community and to the V.I. Democratic Party at an awards recognition dinner to be held later this month on St. Croix.
The "Democratic Men of Action" awards dinner will recognize a handful of local men who have given their time, talent, skills and resources to help sustain the Democratic Party, according to a Party release.
Those being honored include long-time Representative and former Senator Ron De Lugo, who will be receiving a Distinguished Service Award; St. Croix Administrator Gregory R. Francis, who will be given the Outstanding Service Award; Department of Labor Commissioner Cecil R. Benjamin, who will receive the Winston A. Hodge Leadership Award; V.I. Housing Authority Maintenance Director Abdullah Saleem, who is being honored with the Ron De Lugo Award of Excellence, and Neville A. James, who will receive the Rising Star Award.
Appreciation Plaques will also be awarded at the dinner to those who have distinguished themselves through their generous contributions to the Party, according to the statement. The Appreciation Plaques will go to: Omar B.U. Henry; Wadsworth Dickenson; Edwin "Eddie" Ortiz; Charles "Tony Mac" McAlpin; Joseph "Joe" Olmeda; Cleave Wilson; Patrick Richards; Elrose "Mickey" Richards; Allenston Nanton; Dion Lorenzo; Vincent Griffin; George"Mr. H" Harley; Alphonso "Al" Franklin; George "Bagoon" O'Reilly; Jerris T. Browne and Roger Kainth.
The dinner, a semi-formal affair, will be held at 6 p.m. on Saturday, August 9, at the Divi Carina Bay Resort on St. Croix. Tickets are $40 and can be purchased from any committee member, or at the door the night of the event.
For further information, contact District Chair, Terrence T. Joseph, or Vice Chair, Sonia L. Boyce at 719-1404.

Publisher's note : Like the St. John Source now? Find out how you can love us twice as much — and show your support for the islands' free and independent news voice … click here.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here