Home News Local government FYI: Sen. Berry Congratulates Women's Hall of Famers

FYI: Sen. Berry Congratulates Women's Hall of Famers


The following material is being published, unedited, exactly as it was received via e-mail from the office of the government official or agency named, as a Source community service. Government office holders wishing to contribute to the FYI bulletin board must e-mail [email protected]. The Source reserves the right to choose what is published.
Dec. 2, 2005 – Senate President Lorraine L. Berry today offered her congratulations to fourteen St. Thomas women to be inducted into the Virgin Islands Women's Hall of Fame tomorrow on St. Thomas. Honored are June Adams, Zeathea Armstrong, Fiolina Bocachica-Mills, Dorothy L. Elskoe, Winifred Garfield, Juel T.R. Molloy, Ruth E. Thomas; and, posthumously, Myra Keating-Smith, Gertrude Lockhart Dudley-Melchior, Lucinda A. Millin, Mariel Newton, Maude Proudfoot, Rhoda H.T. Tillett, and Edith Williams.
Berry noted that "Virgin Islands history is filled with accounts of the achievements of these women in nursing, education, culture, public service, public safety, philanthropy, and business". Berry stated it is only fitting that they be inducted into the Hall of Fame so that generations of our people will remember their contributions to the Virgin Islands; and the manner in which they guided countless generations of Virgin Islanders. Further stated Berry. "It is at the hands of many of these distinguished women that we enjoy a greater quality of life today; our islands are better today because of them".
Concluded Berry, "Young women of today would do well to see these women as role models and tell themselves, as did these honorees, that no matter what the task, no matter what the obstacle, they, too, can make their mark in this small community if they wish to make a difference in their lives and for our beloved island home."


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here