Home News Local sports Central High Schoolers Dominate Metric Mile

Central High Schoolers Dominate Metric Mile


Dec. 12, 2005 – The annual V.I.Pace Runners Metric Mile over the distance of 1500 meters offers runners of all ages the chance to determine where their training for cross-country has taken them as they prepare for the indoor and outdoor track season. Juan Robles of St. Croix Central High School appeared to be on the right track as he cruised to victory in the race Saturday afternoon in Upper Love, with a time of 4 minutes and 10 seconds.
It was his third victory in a row for the annual race which was dominated this year by St. Croix Central High School runners. Robles ran six seconds faster than last year and 19 seconds faster than three years ago. With exception of encountering a few pot holes, the point-to-point course is very fast, Wallace Williams, founder of the Pace Runners, said. Mike Klein took second place with a time of 4:50 and Rabin Quintero of Center High School also, took third in 4:57; Terry Castro also of Central was fourth in 4:58 and Tapia Cesar of CHS was fifth in 5:08. Dennis Vanterpool III was the first male under 13in 12:01.
Earthla Augustin was the first place overall winner for female runners with a time of 5:48; Jochebed Harris of CHS was second in 6:05; Wyn Charlery was third in 6:49; Kyra Thomas was fourth in 7:02 and Jazmine Willocks was fifth in 7:11. Wyn Charlery was the first female 13 and under; Kyra Thomas was second and Jazmine Willocks was third.
Finishers Male:
1.Juan Robles CHS 4:10
2. Mike Klein 4:50
3. Raibin Quinterio, CHS 4:57
4. Terry Castro, CHS 4:58
5. Cesar Tapia, CHS 5:08
6. Leonardo Reyes, CHS 5:13
7. Carmona Robinson, CHS 5:18
8. Leonard Reyes, CHS 5:23
9. Christopher Vitalis, CHS 5:32
10. Pedro Merrinez, Woodson Junior High School 5:32
11. Leandro Reyes, CHS 6:16
12. Stuart Ketchum, UVI 6:48
13. Jack Branch, 7:14
14. Dennis Vanterpool III 12:01
Finishers Female:
1.Earthla Augustin, 5:48
2. Jochebed Harris, CHS 6:05
3. Wyn Charlery, Eulialie Rivera Elementary School 6:49
4. Kyra Thomas, Hounds and Foxes TC
5. Jazmine Willocks, HFTC 7:11
6. Andrea Wynter, HFTC 7:23
7. Vielka White, Pearl B. Larsen Elementary School 8:59
The next race on the V.I.Pace Runners Calendar is the Cane Bay 5 Mile Road Race Saturday, Dec. 17 at 6 a.m. at the Cane Bay Beach. For more information call 340-643-2557 or logon to: virginislandspace.org.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here