Home Community Organizations NABA St. Croix to Induct 22 UVI Students

NABA St. Croix to Induct 22 UVI Students


March 29, 2006 — The St. Croix Chapter of the National Association of Black Accountants will hold its annual induction ceremony on the University of the Virgin Islands' St. Croix campus on Friday, March 31. The induction ceremony will take place at noon in the Evans Center, room EC401.
Twenty-two UVI students majoring in the fields of business, accounting or finance will be inducted on Friday. These students are: Avante Barton, Luz Eneida Bermudez, Dina Cruz, Somalia Edwards, Velma Edwards, Rozana Felicien, Catherina Francis, Janice Goodridge, Kennalyne Jn. Baptiste, Lucy Adreina Nunez, Wayne Petersen, Jacinth Stanley, Rosa Quezada, Crystal Vitalis, Renako Wells, Velda Wrenford, Rachel Hamilton Francis, Bond Beaupierre, Asia Moe, Tiffany Scott, Stacy Bowers and Carl Christopher.
The keynote speaker for the induction ceremony is Challenge M. Okiwe.
Okiwe is the director of the Center for Advancement of Minority Accountants at NABA's national office in Greenbelt, Md. NABA developed the center to recruit, develop and support talented minorities interested in accounting, finance, and business-related fields.
Since 1969 NABA has been the leader in expanding the influence of minority professionals in the fields of accounting and finance. Today, through the efforts of NABA and other interested groups, there are more than 200,000 African-Americans participating in the field of accounting, more than 5,000 of whom are CPAs.
As a leader in the business community, NABA continues to create opportunities for enlarging the pipeline of African-Americans into every level of accounting, finance and business. NABA's motto is "Lifting as we climb!"
The UVI St. Croix chapter, formerly known as the Accounting Association, became affiliated with NABA in March 2004.
For further information on the St. Croix chapter of NABA, please contact Professor Francisco Depusoir, the St. Croix chapter advisor at 692-4113; Akilah Moe, Chapter President at [email protected]; or send an e-mail to [email protected]


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here