Home News Local news 2007 Property Tax Due March 15

2007 Property Tax Due March 15


With the Berne tax lawsuit settled and a court injunction against the issuance of property tax bills lifted, the V.I. Division of Property Tax has issued property tax bills for 2007, with a due date of March 15.

The 2007 bills are issued to the property owners of record as of Jan. 1, 2008, according to a statement from the Office of the Lt. Governor, which oversees property tax collection. The 2007 tax bills will be become delinquent if not paid by May 15, 2011.

In late January, the Division of Property Tax issued a statement that it expects to issue the 2008 bills later this year. There is presently no timetable in place for the issuance of the 2009 or 2010 bills.

Property taxes can be paid at the Tax Collector’s Offices at the following locations:

• St. John: Islandia Building

• St. Thomas: Builders Emporium

• St. Croix: 1105 King Street, Christiansted (Government House); 1131 King Street, Suite No. 101, Christiansted;
 4008 Est. Diamond (Dept. of Finance, Sunny Isles); and in Frederiksted at Lagoon Street Commercial Building No. 1.

Payments can be made in person or by mail. Checks, cash, money orders, ATM, debit and credit cards (Visa and Mastercard only) are accepted. Persons submitting their payments by mail are advised not to send cash. For more information about the 2007 property tax bills, contact the Office of the Tax Assessor on each island at 776-8505 on St. Thomas, 776-6737 on St. John and on St. Croix at 773-6459 for Christiansted or 772-3115 for the Frederiksted office.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here