Home News Local sports Coolers Blast Dirty Dozen; Stealers, Anchor Dive Winners

Coolers Blast Dirty Dozen; Stealers, Anchor Dive Winners


The Coolers made short work of the Dirty Dozen Monday night at the D.C. Canegata Ball Park, hammering them by a score of 23-5 in the only game played on rainout games makeup night. The other two schedule games were decided by forfeits. In game one, the streaking defending champion Seaborne Stealers 2011 winning streak moves to 12 in a row as they got the walkover win when the Cartel failed to field a team. Anchor Dive was similarly rewarded in the scheduled late game when the Diageo Hummers failed to show up.

Coolers 23, Dirty Dozen 5
The Dirty Dozen have surprised a couple of top-notch teams in the last two weeks, so the Coolers were not going to take them lightly on Monday. They came out with bats blazing, and when the dust cleared the Dirty Dozen found themselves quickly shown the gates in four innings by way of the four inning, 15-run mercy rule, 23-5.

Coolers ace Dexter DeSouza scattered eight hits and allowed five runs in picking up the victory on the mound for the Coolers, while Jason Roberts got the loss for the Dirty Dozen. It was the Coolers with 23 runs on 20 hits and three errors, while the Dirty Dozen finished with five runs on eight hits and three errors.

The winners had many players with career nights at the plate, but the two that stood slightly above the rest were Eric Perez (2 for 2 with two home runs and six RBIs) and Xavier Perez (2 for 3 with two home runs and six RBIs). For the Dirty Dozen, Jeff Elvins was 2 for 3 with two RBIs, and Roberts was 2 for 3 with one RBI.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here