Home News Local news Gov. Turnbull Announces Appointments to Boards, Commissions

Gov. Turnbull Announces Appointments to Boards, Commissions


Jan. 5, 2006 – Gov. Charles W. Turnbull announced appointments Thursday to three of the territory's boards and commissions.
James Crites was named to a two-year term on the V.I. Board of Tax Review. A former president and chief executive officer of 1st Virgin Islands Federal Savings Bank, he will replace Sanford Grisham, whose term on the board expired.
Crites also served as senior vice-president and eastern region credit officer at the bank.
The governor also nominated Carmen Wesselhoft and Earl Dewindt to the V.I. Housing Finance Authority Board. They will each serve two-year terms.
Dewindt replaces Pedro K. Williams, whose term has expired.
Wesselhoft, a St. John resident, works as a 4-H youth development coordinator at the University of the Virgin Islands Cooperative Extension Service.
Dewindt is a retired teacher and school administrator.
Felipe Ayala Jr. was named to the Historic Preservation Commission to replace Chaneel Callwood Daniels. Her two-year term expired.
"Mr. Ayala will be a resourceful asset to the commission," the governor said.
He cited Ayala's experience as a project manager of Virgin Islands Church History, as well as his post as co-curator for Haagensen House, Villa Notman and Britannia House Museums. He is also a member of the St. Thomas Historical Trust.
The nominations must be approved by the Legislature.
Back Talk

Share your reaction to this news with other Source readers. Please include headline, your name and city and state/country or island where you reside.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here